Support Center > Search Results > SecureKnowledge Details
How to set configure automatic deletion of Database Revision Control versions with 'dbedit' tool
Solution

Automatic deletion of Database Revision Control versions can be set using dbedit tool in the following way:

  1. Connect to command line on Security Management Server / Multi-Domain Security Management Server (over SSH, or console).

    Note:
    On Multi-Domain Security Management Server, user must switch to the context of the relevant Domain Management Server:
    [Expert@HostName]# mdsenv Domain_Management_Server

  2. Start the dbedit tool:

    [Expert@HostName]# dbedit

  3. Press Enter key to log in to localhost.

  4. Run the following dbedit commands:

    dbedit> modify mgmt_versions_config db_versions_auto_del active true
    dbedit> modify mgmt_versions_config db_versions_auto_del kept_units 15
    dbedit> update_all
    dbedit> quit

    In the above example:
    • 'db_versions_auto_del active true' enables the 'Automatically delete old versions' setting
    • 'db_versions_auto_del kept_units 15' enables the 'Delete versions older than' setting and sets the number to 15 'versions'

The information related to the Database Revision Control configuration is stored in the $FWDIR/conf/mgmt_versions_config.C file on Security Management Server / relevant Domain Management Server.

This solution has been verified for the specific scenario, described by the combination of Product, Version and Symptoms. It may not work in other scenarios.

Give us Feedback
Please rate this document
[1=Worst,5=Best]
Comment