Support Center > Search Results > SecureKnowledge Details
After user disconnects from VPN site, "last connected username" is cached and presented in username field of Endpoint Security VPN client Technical Level
Symptoms
  • After the user disconnects from the VPN site, the last connected username is cached and presented in the user name field of Endpoint Security VPN client.
Cause

Environment: "Username and password" is used for user authentication in Endpoint Security VPN client to connect to the VPN site.

Username used to connect to a VPN site is stored and cached differently than the Password.

Password

If password caching is enabled, the password is saved in the memory of the service (TracSrvWrapper) that uses it to either connect transparently, or connect with password field already filled with asterisks.

The cache is kept as long as the service is up (the TrGUI can go down and up). The system NEVER keep passwords outside of the process memory. So if the service is stopped and restarted, or the computer is rebooted, the user will need to enter his credentials again.

User name

The "last connected username" is associated with a VPN site. This means that after a successful connection, the username used to connect to the site is added into the obscured trac.config file and kept as part of the VPN site properties.

On the next connection to the same VPN site, the "last connected username" is automatically presented in the username field.

After you change the values of "display_name" and "username" in the trac.defaults file on the client side, when a user opens the Endpoint Security VPN GUI to connect to a site, the value of the "display_name" is presented, until a valid username is entered and the client connects to the site.

From this point onwards, the customized username added to the trac.default's values is overwritten and the username used to connect to the VPN site is presented in the username field.


Solution
Note: To view this solution you need to Sign In .