Support Center > Search Results > SecureKnowledge Details
After renaming the Interoperable Device object, pre-shared secret disappears from the object
Symptoms
  • Pre-shared secret disappears after renaming the Interoperable Device object:

    1. Enable pre-shared secret in the Security Gateway object:
      Go to 'IPSec VPN' pane - click on 'Traditional mode configuration...' button - check the box 'Pre-Shared Secret' - click on 'OK'
    2. Enable and Define the Pre-Shared Secret in the Interoperable Device object:
      Go to 'IPSec VPN' pane - click on 'Traditional mode configuration...' button - check the box 'Pre-Shared Secret' - click on 'Edit Secrets...' button - select the Security Gateway object - click on 'Edit' button
    3. Remove the Interoperable Device from the VPN community.
    4. Change the name of the Interoperable Device object to a new name - click on 'OK'.
    5. The pre-shared secret no longer appears in the Interoperable Device object:
      Go to 'IPSec VPN' pane - click on 'Traditional mode configuration...' button - check the box 'Pre-Shared Secret' - click on 'Edit Secrets...' button - select the Security Gateway object - click on 'Edit' button
    6. Restore the original the name of the Interoperable Device object.
    7. The pre-shared secret appears again in the Interoperable Device object:
      Go to 'IPSec VPN' pane - click on 'Traditional mode configuration...' button - check the box 'Pre-Shared Secret' - click on 'Edit Secrets...' button - select the Security Gateway object - click on 'Edit' button

    As a result, after renaming the Interoperable Device object and installing policy, the Phase 1 would fail since there is no pre-shared key defined.

Solution
Note: To view this solution you need to Sign In .